top of page

The team behind The Sensor Decade

Sintef hvit forside_edited.png

SINTEF is world-leading in designing and building advanced sensor components and smart sensor systems for industrial and commercial use.


We are over 80 researchers, located in Oslo, developing sensor components, applied measurement solutions, and advancing the interpretation and analysis of complex sensor data.


SINTEF MiNaLab performs research and small-scale production within microsystems and nanotechnology, where the focus is silicon sensor technology.


SINTEF applies the most suitable technology – or build new components and systems from scratch – using a first-principles approach to understand and interpret sensors in the real world.


The Department of Informatics at UiO covers a wide range of research activities related to sensors, from fully integrated CMOS image- and electromagnetic sensor systems to user experience and product design. Methods for processing sensor data is also covered through research on digital signal processing and machine learning / artificial intelligence.


The Nanoelectronics group covers hardware-oriented research on sensors and System-on-Chip (SoC) solutions in nanoscale CMOS and System-in-Package (SiP).


The Department of Physics develops technology by conducting research on the physical effects in sensors and sensor systems, for example piezo based ultra-sound sensors, impedance-based sensors for medical use, sensors for space physics applications to determine plasma parameters in ionosphere, and silicon pixel sensors and detector systems for high energy physics.

SL_signature_red (1).png

Startuplab is Norway's largest incubator and investor for early-phase technology companies. Since 2012, over 400 companies have joined Startuplab to begin their journey to success. These include reMarkable, No Isolation, Huddly, Kahoot and Zwipe.


Startuplab collaborates with many of Norway's leading universities and research institutes, for example SINTEF and UiO, in helping ambitious students and entrepreneurs commercialise their ideas and research results.


Many of the start-ups they work with include advanced sensor technology as a key component in their products, for example, Tuneable, Sensibel, Zivid, Oivi, Aidee og Mode Sensors.


Electronic Coast is a member organisation for technology companies (approximately 40) in the Horten cluster.


The cluster has a strong community within the design, application, and manufacturing of sensors for a wide range of markets, ranging from subsea to space.


The sensor technology companies in Electronic Coast cover several measurement principles including electrochemistry, MEMS, and optics.


Norway's Geotechnical Institute has strong competence in measurement instrumentation and real time monitoring, especially in harsh environments, for example, offshore, offshore wind, natural hazard events, building & construction, and landfill.


NGI's focusses on the application and integration of existing sensor technology. However, when required, they have also had projects in developing dedicated sensors.


Oslo Science City was established in 2019 and is Norway's first Innovation District.


With more than 7.500 researchers situated between Majorstuen and Gaustad, Radiumhospitalet and Ullevål Stadion, this is the most competence intensive area in Norway.


Members of Oslo Science City include the University of Oslo, SIO, South Eastern Norway Regional Health Authority, SINTEF, The City of Oslo, Oslo Universty Hospital, HSØ, Oslo Science Park, NGI, Ferd, Oslo Pension Insurance (OPF) and Oslo Cancer Cluster.

Strategic committee

  • Marion O'Farrell, Research Manager, SINTEF

  • Christine Wergeland Sørbye, CEO, Oslo Science City

  • Idar Kreutzer, CEO, Finans Norge

  • Mats Carlin, Research Director, SINTEF

  • Morten Dalsmo - Executive Vice President, SINTEF

  • Per Morten Sandset, Vice-Rector for Research and Innovation, UiO

  • Solveig Kristensen, Dean of the Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Science, UiO

  • Cecilie Rolstad Denby, Head of Department - Department of Technology Systems

  • Stephan Oepen,  Professor, Head of Department - Department for Informatics

  • Susanne Friederike Viefers, Head of Department - Department of physics

Technical committee

  • Andre Larsen, Senior Research Scientist, SINTEF

  • Jens Thielemann, Senior Research Scientist, SINTEF

  • Sigurd Moe, Senior Scientist, SINTEF

  • Torbjørn Skauli, Professor, UiO

  • Klaus Magnus Håland Johansen, Leader of Centre for Materials Science & Nanotechnology, UiO

  • Kai Morgan Kjølerbakken, Research Scientist, UiO

  • Dag Trygve Eckhoff Wisland, Professor, UiO

  • Even Zimmer, Director, Electronic Coast

Challenge Committee

  • Kristian Hesthaug, Head of Hardware & IoT, Startup Lab

  • Håvard Tørring, Senior Research Scientist, SINTEF

  • Richard Moore, Senior Research Scientist, SINTEF

  • Anders Hansen, Research Scientist, SINTEF

  • Torbjørn Skauli, Professor, UiO

  • Pål Grønstad Solheim, Principal Engineer, UiO

  • Ola Baksaas, Chairman & co-founder, Portal Space

bottom of page